What Is A Liebster Award? I Now Know The Answer


Anne-Hathaway

So a fellow blogger, and regular commenter here, who’s site is called Thoughts From The Booth recently awarded me with The Liebster Award. My initial reaction ranged from “what is that?” to “Has Joe’s account been hacked and now he’s sending complimentary spam?”. I get a lot of complimentary spam, by the way. If in doubt, Google the potential spam comment. That’s my advice for today. Where was I? Oh yeah, Liebster thing. The Liebster Award is a blogger network prize the origins of which I’ll explain after the jump. Effectively though one blogger nominates a number of other bloggers they enjoy, all of which have a limited number of followers, in an attempt to spread the word and get some juicy subscriber cross-pollination going. In the process you answer a series of questions the nominator poses to you. So, Thoughts From The Booth nominated me and after the jump I’ll nominate someone else and answer the questions posed to me.

First off, thanks to Joe from Thoughts From The Booth for thinking this random collection of film reviews what I do write is worth reading and spreading to others. Thoughts From The Booth is a film blog that, unlike mine, actually manages to find the time to review recent and actually good films. Something I struggle to do because, well, I wanna watch dumb 80s stuff so when I do review an art film it surprises you. Also, I mostly watch dumb 80s films. To give you an idea of how much more legit his film choices are, his last three (at the time of writing this) were The Counselor, Cutie and the Boxer and Rush. So, click the link to his site which is up in the first paragraph, and also here, and see what he has to offer you in the world of Fillum Jurnalizum. I’ll answer his questions in a bit.

Where did the Liebster Award come from? No-one really knows… ooooh… except we have Google and Yahoo answers and stuff now so we kinda do. The earliest appearance of the award comes from a German Blogsport site. The word “Liebster” means “dearest” in German, which means when you’re nominating a site for this award you’re nominating one of your dearest sites. As in most liked, not most expensive. The original idea was to pick 5 bloggers with under 3,000 viewers/followers and pose them the questions so anyone following their links will get an idea of who this awarded blogger is. There’s a good explanation of all of this here. Now, I’m one of them freaks that doesn’t really follow that many blogs, and it seems the ones I do are way out the follower range. So I will be nominating just 1. So…

Dear Ben from Views From the Sofa. I pick you cos you do the writings good. Views From the Sofa doesn’t just cover films, but also entire TV series. The site went on a bit of a hiatus a short while ago but Ben has recently brought it back and I reckon a few extra readers will convince him to keep it going. He recently reviewed the 90s Batman Animated Series which, as you may know from my Batman reviews, is pretty much the greatest interpretation of Batman there has ever been. So go there and have a read of his reviews. They’re good stuff. I’ll probably tweet you about this or something. Remind me if I don’t, assuming you’ll read this. Most importantly though, here are your questions.

1. What is the greatest film of all time?

2. What is your favourite film of all time?

3. If there was one film, book, cartoon or anything you’d jump at the chance to create an entry of, in any medium, what would it be and what would you do?

4. SNES or Mega Drive?

5. what is your favourite Police Academy movie?

6. What weapon would you bring to a fight with Rob Schneider? Describe in detail how it would be used?

7. When you see a guy wearing that bloody Kurt Cobain t-shirt, or a girl wearing that Audrey Hepburn Breakfast At Tiffany’s t-shirt do you A) roll your eyes. B) appreciate their taste. C) Scream “YOU WEREN’T THERE! YOU DON’T KNOW NOTHING ABOUT THEM YOU WORTHLESS HUSKS OF ALLEGED HUMAN BEINGS!!!”?

8. How much wood could a woodchuck chuck if a woodchuck could chuck wood?

9. Greatest TV Series cancelled way too soon?

10. Which director has had the most impact on you with regards to thematic or stylistic approach? Would you say they have shaped your vision of what a great film should accomplish? And would you consider them an auteur? Please argue their merit in 2,000 words or less.

Space Cat

And here’s the questions Joe at Thoughts From The Booth posed to me. Let’s see how dull I can make these answers!

1. What is your favorite movie that makes you feel like crap?

Emotionally it’s Grave of the Fireflies. I doubt I could even write a review about that without makign myself depressed. Amazing work of art though. And that sentence constituted a review and so now I’m depressed. Thanks a lot Joe. From a purely quality view though, probably Batman & Robin. God I wanted to drill a hole in my head when I rewatched that for review, which would have worked if Peter hadn’t stopped me. It’s a wretched mess of a film with 0 redeeming features. Although, now I think about ti, I’d say the same about Titanic 2 and Ultraviolet.

2. If You could have lunch with one person, alive or dead, who would it be?

Yasujiro Ozu. I’d challenge him to a drinking contest and he would kick my arse but it would be worth it.

3. What is your ideal band line up? You have to have a singer, bassist, two guitarists, and a drummer

Vocals: Maynard James Keenan.
Bass: Geddy Lee
Lead Guitar: Kirk Hammett
Melodic Guitar: Gabriela Quintero
Drummer: Blake Richardson

4. Where is your home away from home?

The Prince Charles Cinema in London

5. What was your high school experience like? Or how is it going so far?

Pretty much hated school. Didn’t go to college or university when I left. I did go to college eventually for a film studies course which I pretty much did to check if there was any gaps in my knowledge. The course turned me onto Jan Svankmajer and helped me make my mind up that I wanted to either write films or write about films. Guess which one I’m doing.

6. Are you an optimist or a pessimist?

I’m optimistic about my pessimism. It’s always there for me when I need it and it never lets me down, unlike that damned optimism with it’s hopes and dreams and whatnot.

7. What is your rainy day film?

Scott Pilgrim vs The World. Cannot reiterate enough how much I love that film. For some reason it never gets old. Incidentally, I feel the same about Ghostbusters, Spaceballs and Transformers: The Movie.

8. Which film have you seen the most in your entire life?

Ghostbusters easily. There’s a few that would come close though such as RoboCop, The Empire Strikes Back and Lethal Weapon. Can you tell I grew up in the 80s?

9. What is your ideal job?

Ideally one that pays enough to get by. I’d much rather be making money doing something creative though. If I could get into the world of film making that would be amazing but I’d be happy just earning enough from writing about film to get by. I am some way off that goal.

10. Are you afraid of the future like I am?

Nah, the future kicks arse. We’re gonna have, like, jetpacks and hoverboards and replicators and shit. I do fear for the future of actual quality mainstream film though. Seems quality is in the fringes now rather than being seen by the masses.

11. Do you read? What is your favorite book?

I’m a comic book nerd. Grew up reading the UK Transformers comics, Judge Dredd and the like. Now I’d say my favourite comic is Watchmen closely followed by Blankets. I do read word filled books too though, but I tend to gravitate toward text and factual rather than novels. Currently reading Story by Robert McKee. It is one dense read. When that’s done I have Kevin Smith’s Tough Shit to digest… erm… I should say read.

About lvl54spacemonkey

Just a dude who likes movies and games and has delusions of working in one of those industries. Write screenplays and work on short films in my spare time. Most of which never get finished. View all posts by lvl54spacemonkey

Leave a Reply

